Skip to main content
Fitchburg State Mobile homeAthletics home

MASCAC Announces 2020 Winter/Spring All-Academic Team

Wed Jul 1, 2020

96 Fitchburg State Fall Student-Athletes Recognized

WESTFIELD, Mass. — A total of 96 Fitchburg State University student-athletes have been honored by the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) with selection to the league's 2020 Winter/Spring All-Academic Team that was released by Commissioner Angela Baumann. Overall a total of 1,152 student-athletes were recognized by the conference.

Student-athletes who compete in championship varsity sports offered by each of the MASCAC institutions during the course of the Winter and Spring 2020 athletic season and have achieved a 3.20 cumulative or semester-based grade point average during the semester are eligible for selection to the Winter/Spring All-Academic Team.

Bridgewater State University placed the most student-athletes on the Winter/Spring 2020 MASCAC All-Academic Team with 201 total, while Worcester State University was next in second with 176 and Westfield State University third with 169. Salem State University is close behind in fourth with 136 and Massachusetts Maritime is fifth with 133 student-athletes on the team.

"I am extremely proud of the student-athletes who have earned a spot on the 2020 MASCAC Winter/Spring All-Academic Team," Commissioner Baumann said. "The student-athletes dealt with the adversity of changing to remote learning halfway through the semester and continued their academic success through it."

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's oldest Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as a football affiliate member in 2013. Dean College, Eastern Nazarene College, Elms College, Mitchell College and Springfield College joined as men's golf affiliates in 2019.

Portions of release courtesy of MASCAC conference office.